THERE IS MORE TO YOU

Is there someone whom you don’t know very well in real life? someone you admired or admire from a distance — it could be a blogger whose writing you enjoy, a friend you just recently made, etc. Which of them will you be glad to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story.

Writing this post got me thinking. Is there anyone I would really love to have a chat with? It hit me, for the long months I offered a German Language Course, I had longed for nothing but to have a long chat with my teacher. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity. You might be surprised, why the longing.

I wore a flowing gown on the Monday I won’t forget in a hurry, standing before 33 people from different nationalities, the black, dark, white, red, orange-yellow and green skin colours were all humbly represented. ‘Where do I start from’? I took the best bet and sat at the far end of the classroom, there I could feed my eyes and notice anything unusual – it was the best idea.

We consisted of the brilliant, the knowledgeable, the psycho, the carefree and the ‘dumb’. We were a pair carefully selected as a ‘punishment’ for the ‘sins’ of the teacher. As I watched every day from the rear, trying to digest this difficult language, I couldn’t miss the manner and approach in which she went about the lessons, her patience was infectious. There was something about her I couldn’t put my hand on. It was more like telepathy, we had a bond, a silent bond, we understood ourselves from deep within. It was so strong. When we made mistakes, she laughed at us, when we failed to write our homework, she become sad and stern, when we worked in groups, she explained slowly to every group member until we understood, when we showed little interest in learning, she became motivated, when we cried because of private reasons, her shoulders were always available.

In the course of the Course, my admiration grew to an outburst, there was something about this lady, could it be her many years of experience? could it be her childhood upbringing? Could it be the classy and elegant way she carried herself? Could it be the way she treated a multiracial classroom as one race? Could it be her passion for teaching or could it be that when I look into her eyeglasses, I see beyond the physical into a realm of something bigger and greater than my slender built teacher. As I shook her hands on the last day, I was tempted to ask for a contact which I did not, I was fulfilled with the handshake, it said it all, it gave me a deeper understanding, will I miss her? You should ask for her name.

I would really love to have a long chat with her, I still feel the connection.

24 thoughts on “THERE IS MORE TO YOU

  1. This is a very moving post. That lady seemed to have inspired her students just by being herself and perhaps she doesn’t even know it. From the way you observed and commented I believe you also are an inspiration to people without actually realizing it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is amazing how some people can influence us, Not only through what they teach us from books but mostly from their attitude and behaviour towards us and others. This can give us great memories und change our understanding about how the world can be a better place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw a quote which read – always carry an air of goodness around you because someone somewhere will learn the fruits of goodness from you. Our attitudes actually contribute a lot to the society. Thanks again for the comments

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have met many of these people — ones I wished I connected with, but never did. I guess the old saying is true: We regret what we don’t do, not what we did.

    Thank you for sharing. This was very touching!

    Like

  4. I wish there were a way for you to still make the contact. Teachers give so much and work so hard, and I think most of us have had at least one who inspired us long after the class was done. I chose my career largely because I was lucky enough to have a certain social studies teacher in 8th grade, and when I went on to graduate from law school I went back to my junior high to tell him what a difference he had made. I was told he had passed away, and the school wasn’t able to give me an address to write to his family, but since then I’ve always tried to thank people for doing things they may not even know they’re doing to make an impact on other people’s lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your post reminded me of my high school German teacher. We called him Herr Parr. He was such a fun teacher, and I had him for four years. We used to recite poems and hold classroom debates in German. Some of my fondest memories are in that class. I’ve lost track of him over the years. Like you, I would love to find him and catch up. I hope this blog post helps you locate her.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really enjoyed reading this post. Very touching and beautifully written; and as someone has said you learned much more than language. What I am still wondering is why you ended up not connecting with this teacher to maintain the relationship. What stopped you. Would you mind sharing what actually stopped you from asking for and getting her contact?

    Like

    1. I can’t tell, I felt I enjoyed the connection from afar,something just told me to enjoy the moments while it lasts. However, I was scared of not continuing the relationship if I had started. It’s all regrets now

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I can relate. Growing up in the streets ee called it game recognizing game. But as I gotten older I believe it’s spiritual.
    Also just the opposite can happen instead of feeling connected there’s something unside us that tells us to stay away from that person.

    Nice post,
    Vernon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

