Marriage of Convenience

Deep thoughts portrayed here.

Yonason Goldson

WAGON WRAP 5We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.
― Kurt Vonnegut

The orderly rolled my gurney to a stop before an imposing double doorway. “Okay,” he said, “This is where you get your kiss.” I couldn’t tell if he was speaking to me or to my wife.  In any case, my wife kissed me and laughed and cried all at once. Then I was rolling again.

I arrived in surgery and scooted over onto the operating table.  I joked with the anesthesiologist.  He found my vein on the first try.  I recited Psalms to myself and wondered distantly why I wasn’t scared out of my wits.

They sliced me open, broke my sternum, compressed my lungs like empty sugar bags, and stopped my heart to patch the hole between its upper chambers with a piece of my pericardium while redirecting…

View original post 534 more words

2 thoughts on “Marriage of Convenience

  1. Great post, What a start line to open up a post too! I think it will stick in my head for the entire week and will inspire me to a post in my own version myself 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

